Institute of Control Systems (IRS)

Inertial Measurement Units (IMU/INS)

Inertial Measurement Units are very advanced systems which combine accelerometers, gyroscopes and a high speed processing unit. ITE-IMU Their high dynamic range (up to several kHz) makes them suitable for a variety of operating fields. An additional advantage is their resistance against external disturbances. A major disadvantage is their short term accuracy. The multiple integration of the sensor data leads to a tremendous growth of  the navigation-errors. This characteristic is complementary to Global Satellite Navigation Systems (GPS/GLONASS/GALILEO). Thus in practical applications multisensor navigation systems are used. An additional improvement can be achieved by processing the sensor raw data with error compensation algorithms.

The Inertial Measurement Unit developed at the ITE combines tactical grade inertial sensors with a 32 bit floating point Digital Signal Processor to compensate bias-, scale-factor-, an misalignment-errors at runtime. Furthermore the ITE-IMU provides a special synchronisation option in combination with a Global Satellite Navigation Systems.

Inertial Sensor Integration and Calibration

IMU-Kalibrierung

The IMU calibration lab at the ITE provides measurement equipment to determine IMU performance parameters like e. g.:

  • Scale factor and Bias
  • Axis-Misalignment
  • Noise and drift rates

We have also the ability to develop and produce mechanical parts or electronic circuit boards at our facilities. The close interconnection between mechanical and electronic design departments led to an optimized IMU-carrier with regard to weight, stability, size and performance.

Diaschau IMU

contact person

Institut für Regelungs- und Steuerungssysteme IRS

Inertial Measurement Units (IMU/INS)

Basis einer Inertial Measurement Unit sind Beschleunigungs- und Drehratensensoren. Sie zeichnen sich durchITE-IMU eine große Dynamik (mehrere kHz) aus und sind gegen äußere Störquellen enorm resistent. Von Nachteil ist die Kurzzeitgenauigkeit, da Sensorfehler durch mehrmalige Integration bei der Bestimmung der Navigationslösung mit der Zeit enorm anwachsen. Diese Eigenschaften sind komplementär zu Satelliten-Navigationssystemen (langsam, langzeitgenau) wodurch in der Praxis meist gekoppelte Navigationssystem Anwendung finden. Eine zusätzliche Verbesserung liefern Algorithmen zu Fehlerkompensation der Sensorrohdaten.

Die am ITE entwickelte Inertial Measurement Unit ist mit einem leistungsfähigen 32-Bit Signalprozessor ausgestattet, der während der Laufzeit Bias, Skalenfaktorfehler und Achsfehlstellungen kompensiert bis zu einer Messrate von 1 kHz. Weiterhin verfügt die ITE-IMU über spezielle Synchronisationsmechanismen für den Einsatz in einem gekoppelten integriertem Navigationssystem.

Inertialsensorintegration und Kalibrierung

IMU-Kalibrierung

Das ITE besitzt ein IMU-Kalibrierlabor zur Bestimmung von Fehlergrößen und Leistungsparametern wie z.B.:

  • Skalenfaktor und Bias
  • Achsfehlstellung (Misalignment)
  • Rauschterme und Biasdrift (Alan-Variance)

Inertial Measurement Units sind komplexe mechatronische Systeme. Sowohl elektronische als auch mechanische Komponenten können am ITE entwickelt und gefertigt werden. Durch die enge Zusammenarbeit zwischen Elektronikentwicklung und mechanischer Konstruktion wurde eine optimale Trägereinheit hinsichtlich, Gewicht, Stabilität und Raumbedarf entwickelt und in den eigenen Werkstätten gefertigt.

Diaschau IMU

Ansprechpartner