Institute of Control Systems (IRS)

Autonomous Unmanned Vehicle Systems

The Institute of Systems Optimization (ITE) is researching on the fusion of sensors with complementary characteristics in integrated navigation systems. The resulting navigation solution can be found in different areas of application. One of these applications is the AirQuad. It is an autonomous Unmanned Aerial Vehicle (UAV), which is developed at the ITE. The focus is in the field of system design, system architecture and the system intelligence.

  

Drohne

The UAV is an electrically-powered four-rotor helicopter. Due to its diameter of about 1m and a total weight of about 1.5 kg the UAV is classified into the class of micro aerial vehicles (MAV). Owing to its ability to hover, it is suited very well for many rescue and security applications.

 

The focus of the ITE lies on the development of an UAV that is capable to autonomously accomplish exploration missions. Possible areas of application are for example buildings or industrial estates after building fire, industrial accidents or natural disasters. Inertial navigation and control systems for autonomous flights commonly require GPS information to limit inertial sensor errors. In the aforementioned situation, GPS is not always available or the information is impacted due to multipath and shading. Therefore, complementary sensor information (laser rangefinder's scans, camera images, barometer-altimeter measurements and magnetometer measurements are used to aid an inertial navigation system. Beside the self-localization an environment recognition is crucial for autonomous systems. Thus, critical situations (e.g. collisions with walls) can be prevented and passageways into buildings can be detected. This allows precise flights through passageways into buildings for indoor exploration.

 

 

The actual focus of the ITE lies on the extension of the aforementioned techniques. Thus, actual tasks and objectives are defined as follows:

Tiltrotor Quadrotor

A quadrotor with rotors which can be tilted adds a new flexibility in the usage of this class of MAVs. This results in more degrees of freedom in divided attitude and velocity control as well as in reaction time. Basically, the quadrotor design is similar to a common quadrotor. The difference is given by the opportunity to tilt every propulsion motor around the side arm, on which it is mounted. While a common quadrotor has a direct dependency between attitude and velocity in the system itself, the quadrotor with tiltable rotors can perform attitude and velocity changes independently of each other. The system is an over actuated one, due to the fact that there are more control inputs than degrees of freedom. Using a simple control algorithm will fail on this problem because ambiguities exist. Thus, the ITE is researching nonlinear controlling algorithms the quadrocopter with tiltable rotors and two extensions to the control loop in order to increase the overall controller performance.

Localization in Urban Areas

In the vicinity of buildings, GNSS signals are subject to blockage and multipath. Hence, the navigation solution of GNSS-aided navigation filters deteriorates in urban areas. In order to reduce these errors, the ITE develops methods for improving navigation systems by fusing different sensors. Moreover, by adapting navigation filters to different scenarios and implementing integrity checks, availability and reliability are increased significantly. This allows for autonomous flights of MAVs in urban areas, which is a major research objective.

Autonomous indoor exploration

The aerial investigation of buildings can provide rescue forces with information beyond their own field of vision and thus reduce risks. Hereby unmanned Micro Aerial Vehicles (MAVs) lend themselves to perform supporting reconnaissance flights. To do so the agent has to independently explore accessible interior space, react flexibly to obstacles and return safely to the ground station. The MAV, limited in both computing and loading capacity, is faced with a multitude of dynamic challenges which classical systems often cannot meet in real time. That is why at the ITE a novel multi-sensor system for autonomous exploration in GNSS-denied environment is developed. It comprises reactive strategies for secure and effective indoor application: on-board computation of heterogeneous sensor data is ought to enable not only comprehensive reconnaissance but both situational awareness and robustness during the navigation. Data acquisition tailored to mission specific tasks simplifies and accelerates e.g. the generation of plant layouts for rescue forces.

Indoor Mapping

Using various sensors, particularly laser rangefinders, the agent is able to construct a metric map of its surroundings. Based on that, path planning algorithms for navigation can be applied. However, metric maps do not provide further information about the robot's operating environment, which is necessary for both robot and human to understand the scenery. Therefore, the metric map is augmented with mission-specific, qualitative features. As a result, the task-planning capabilities of rescue teams and the situation detection capabilities of aerial vehicles are improved.

contact persons

Home | english  | Impressum | KIT

Autonome Unmanned Vehicle Systems

Das Institut für Theoretische Elektrotechnik und Systemoptimierung (ITE) forscht unter anderem an der Fusion komplementärer Sensordaten in integrierten Navigationssystemen. Die daraus resultierende Navigationslösung kann in unterschiedlichen Bereichen Anwendung finden. Eine dieser Anwendungen stellt der AirQuad dar. Hierbei handelt es sich um ein autonomes Unmanned Aerial Vehicle (UAV, unbemanntes Fluggerät), welches am ITE entwickelt wird. Der Fokus liegt im Bereich des Systemdesigns, der Systemarchitektur und der System-Intelligenz.

  

Drohne

Das UAV ist ein durch vier Elektromotoren betriebener Helikopter, das durch seinen Durchmesser von ca. 1m und seiner Nutzlast von 1,5kg zur Klasse der Mikrofluggeräte gehört. Durch seine Fähigkeit zu schweben, ist es für viele Rettungs- und Sicherheits-Anwendungen sehr gut geeignet.

 

Der Fokus des ITE liegt in der Entwicklung eines autonomen Fluggeräts, das sowohl in Innenräumen als auch im Außenbereich selbstständig Aufgaben durchführen kann. Insbesondere bei der autonomen Erkundung von Gebäuden zur Unterstützung von Rettungskräften ist es entscheidend jederzeit unabhängig von GNSS (Global Navigation Satellite System) eine möglichst präzise Selbstlokalisierung durchführen zu können. Zu diesem Zweck werden komplementäre Sensorinformationen (Laser-Entfernungsmessungen, Kamerabilder, Messungen eines Barometer-Altimeters, Inertialsensormessungen und Magnetfeldsensorinformationen) fusioniert. Neben der Selbstlokalisation ist eine Umfelderkennung für ein autonom agierendes System essentiell. Dadurch lassen sich kritische Situationen (z.B. mögliche Kollisionen) vermeiden sowie anzufliegende Ziele, wie Gebäudedurchgänge detektieren. Dies bildet die Grundlage für die autonome Durchführung von Missionszielen wie zum Beispiel

 

 

der Passage von Gebäudedurchgängen.

Das aktuelle Arbeitsgebiet des ITE  hat das Ziel die oben genannten Methoden durch die Forschung an folgenden Schwerpunkten zu erweitern:

Tiltrotor Quadrokopter

Bei einem konventionellen Quadrokopter ist es nicht möglich die Fluglage und Geschwindigkeit entkoppelt voneinander vorzugeben. Dies wird am ITE durch die Entwicklung eines Tiltrotor Quadrokopters gelöst. Bei diesem System lassen sich die Rotoren einzeln um die jeweilige Auslegerachse schwenken. Dadurch ist es möglich das Fluggerät auf der Stelle stehend verschiedene Lagen im Raum einnehmen zu lassen. Neben der entkoppelten Geschwindigkeits- und Lagevorgabe zeichnet sich dieses Gerät auch durch eine hochdynamische Manövrierbarkeit aus. Dieses sehr dynamische System besitzt einen hohen Grad an Komplexität weswegen am ITE speziell dafür nichtlineare Regelungsalgorithmen erforscht und entwickelt werden.

Erkundung in urbanem Gebiet

Insbesondere in Gebäudenähe kann es aufgrund der Abschattung von Satelliten und Mehrwegeausbreitung zu einer signifikanten Verschlechterung der Navigationslösung eines GNSS-gestützten Navigationssystems kommen. Daher werden am ITE Methoden zur Verbesserung der Genauigkeit der Navigationslösung mittels der Fusion verschiedener Sensoren entwickelt. Weiterhin steht die Steigerung der Verfügbarkeit und Zuverlässigkeit der Navigationslösung durch an verschiedene Situationen angepasste Navigationsfilter und Integritätschecks im Mittelpunkt des Forschungsinteresses. Dies ermöglicht den autonomen Flug von MAVs in schwierigen Situationen, ohne dass menschliches Eingreifen nötig ist.

Autonome Erkundung von Innenräumen

Die Erkundung von Gebäuden durch unbemannte Fluggeräte kann Rettungskräften wichtige Informationen außerhalb ihres eigenen Sichtbereichs liefern und damit unnötige, unkalkulierbare Risiken für Ersthelfer vermeiden. Um solche Aufklärungsmissionen erfolgreich durchführen zu können, muss das MAV dazu in der Lage sein, in unbekannter Umgebung alle zugänglichen Innenräume selbstständig zu erkunden, flexibel auf Hindernisse zu reagieren und dann sicher zur Bodenstation zurückzukehren. Dies stellt die in Rechenkapazität und Traglast limitierten Mikro-Helikopter vor eine Vielzahl dynamischer Herausforderungen, auf die klassische Systeme oft nicht in Echtzeit reagieren können. Deshalb wird am ITE ein multi-sensorielles System zur autonomen Erkundung entwickelt, das insbesondere reaktive Strategien für den sicheren und effizienten Einsatz in Innenräumen – d.h. ohne GPS-Empfang - beinhaltet. Die Onboard-Verarbeitung heterogener Sensordaten soll nicht nur die umfassende Erkundung ermöglichen, sondern das Fluggerät auch zur robusten und situationsbewussten Navigation befähigen. Missionsspezifisch akquirierte Daten können dann direkt z.B. in Gebäudepläne für Rettungskräfte überführt werden.

Kartierung von Innenräumen

Mithilfe verschiedener Sensoren, insbesondere des Laser-Entfernungsmessers, lässt sich bei gleichzeitiger Eigenlokalisierung die Geometrie der Umgebung abbilden. Solche metrischen Karten eignen sich zur Navigation des Fluggeräts, jedoch weniger zur Interpretation der zugrunde liegenden Szene. Deshalb wird die metrische Karte mit missionsspezifischen, qualitativen Merkmalen erweitert. Die resultierende Karte befähigt zum einen das Fluggerät zur Situationserkennung und zum anderen die Rettungskräfte zur besseren Planung des Einsatzes.

 

Ansprechpartner